Recenze/review - DRAWN AND QUARTERED - Congregation Pestilence (2021)



pondělí 14. ledna 2019

Home » » News! - THE SCARS IN PNEUMA - The Glorious Empire Of Sand - debut album coming in February!

News! - THE SCARS IN PNEUMA - The Glorious Empire Of Sand - debut album coming in February!

THE SCARS IN PNEUMA - "The Glorious Empire Of Sand"

Comment by guitarist/vocalist Lorenzo Marchello:

“The Glorious Empire Of Sand” is probably the song i'm most proud of off our upcoming debut “The Path Of Seven Sorrows”. It's also the longest track of the album and it showcases different styles, including epic / melodic mid-tempo riffs, pure black metal attacks and clean guitars sections. This makes the whole song sound multiform when it comes to the mood. Lyrics talk about the futility and frailty of our efforts in life (which is a recurring theme on the whole album's lyrics), but here this topic is explored with an epic perspective by referring to the ancient empires which, sooner or later, have fallen (“sand” in the title is a metaphor for frailty, for something which won't last). And, despite knowing where the journey leads, we still struggle in order to build our “glorious empire of sand”.

THE SCARS IN PNEUMA: Italian black metallers launch "Souls Are Burning" at No Clean Singing, debut album coming in February!

Italian black metallers THE SCARS IN PNEUMA will release their debut album "ThePath Of Seven Sorrows" on February 8th 2019 via Promethean Fire / Kolony Records.

Today the band partnered with No Clean Singing to premiere a single from therelease called "Souls Are Burning". A masterclass in dynamic and epic black metal.

You can listen to the song HERE!

THE SCARS IN PNEUMA (“The Scars in the Soul” – from “πνεύμα”, ancient Greek word for “breath”, “breath of life” and, in a religious context, for “spirit”, “soul”) recorded "The Path Of Seven Sorrows" at Elfo Studio in Tavernago (PC), Italy; mixing and mastering took place at Goblin Studio in Piacenza, Italy, with Daniele Mandelli at the helm.

The striking cover artwork is "The Fire at Night" painting by Francisco Goya(1794).

"The Path Of Seven Sorrows" tracklist:

01. Devotion
02. Souls Are Burning
03. Spark To Fire To Sun
04. All The Secrets That We Keep
05. Dark Horizons Ahead
06. The Glorious Empire Of Sand
07. Constellations

First single "Spark To Fire To Sun", is now streaming on YouTube. Check it out HERE!

THE SCARS IN PNEUMA initially started as a solo project of Lorenzo Marchello (vocals / guitars / bass) in the beginning of 2017, and it turned to a band when trusted musicians Francesco Lupi (guitars) and Daniele Valseriati (drums) joined the ranks later during the same year.

Musically, THE SCARS IN PNEUMA provides it's own particular black metal style, which can be defined as a mix of black metal, death metal with melodic riffing and epic passages, with a touch of doomy mood. Some bands that can be cited as inspiration are Dissection, Mgła, Be'lakor, Rotting Christ, Forgotten Tomb, Blut Aus Nord, Emperor.

Lyrically, THE SCARS IN PNEUMA is all about themes such as dealing with your own demons, life's biggest regrets, the passing of time, the beloved people we lost.


Lorenzo Marchello - Vocals, Guitars, Bass
Francesco Lupi - Guitars
Daniele Valseriati - Drums

Share this games :